Robert Ivy Receives Lifetime Achievement Award

Robert Ivy is CEO and executive vice president of American Institute of Architects. He has recently been awarded the Noel Polk Lifetime Achievement Award. He was given this award by the Mississippi Institute of Arts and Letters. Robert Ivy receiving this lifetime achievement award, is the first time an architect has been chosen. As a Mississippi native, this is a great achievement both personally and professionally for Robert Ivy. The people who have been honored with this award in the past are actor Morgan Freeman, Eudora Welty, and Walter Anderson, an artist. This award is of great honor and Robert Ivy has truly worked hard to receive the Noel Polk Lifetime Achievement Award.Robert Ivy is not only an architect. He is also a commentator, author and writer. On June 2nd, Robert Ivy will officially receive his award and proudly accept it.

Robert Ivy wrote a biography “Fay Jones:Architect”. It is in its third edition and was originally published in 2001. The book shows the work from an architect who was devoted to Frank Loyd Wright. Robert Ivy received his Bachelor’s of Arts Degree in English from Sewanee: The University of the South. Robert Ivy earned his Master’s Degree in Architecture from Tulane University. Ivy was an officer in the United States Navy before becoming an architect. The national architecture fraternity Alpha Rho Chi honored Ivy with an award because of the way he effectively communicates and values design. This was a great honor also. Robert Ivy was also the editor and chief of McGraw-Hill’s Architectural Record. With Ivy as the role of leader, the Architectural Record began winning many awards. Among the awards that they won was the National Magazine Award for General Excellence. It was Robert Ivy’s genius that made the winning of these awards possible.

On June 2nd, both Robert Ivy and Andrew Cary Young will be honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award. Robert Ivy has worked long and hard to receive such a great honor. Robert Ivy has made architecture much easy for the entire world to grasp. Through his writings and his hard-work, he is able to spread his knowledge of architecture with others easily. Robert Ivy has really made a difference in the way architecture is perceived and understood. The Noel Polk Lifetime Achievement Award is such a great honor for the CEO of AIA to receive. He will be the first architect to ever receive this award.

Search more about Robert Ivy:

Amazing Examples From The American Institute Of Architects

Since 1969, the American Institute of Architects has awarded their Twenty-five Year Award to a structure that was designed by an American architect that is between 25 and 35 years old. All but one of the structures is located in the United States. The first recipient in 1969 was the Rockefeller Center, but since 1971, the institute has given the award annually.

Crow Island School

Receiving the award in 1971 was the Crow Island School designed by Chicago firm of Perkins, Wheeler along with Will and Eero Saarinen who worked in partnership. The kindergarten through fourth-grade school in Winnetka, Illinois, has also been named a United States National Historic Landmark because it is a prime example of the International Style of architecture.

Baldwin Hills Village

Now called Village Green, this apartment area is located in Los Angeles just off Rodeo Drive. Known for its exclusive atmosphere, it was constructed in 1947 as the first example of a Modernist Garden city. All 627 units surround a parklike setting with space for cars around the perimeter.

Like American Institute of Architects on Facebook

Johnson and Son Administration Building

This office complex located in Racine, Wisconsin, was designed by Frank Lloyd Wright in the Art Moderne style. The administration building according to contains unique columns that are only inches wide at the base and over 18 feet wide at the top. The complex was built in two different stages with the Research Tower is one of two skyscrapers designed by Wright. In all, 17 buildings designed by Wright have won some type of award from the American Institute of Architects.

Christ Lutheran Church

The International Style worship house was the last project designed by Eliel Saarinen during his illustrative career. This Minneapolis church is one of only two designed by Saarinen. The long narrow building has been noted by world-class musicians for its outstanding acoustics.

Farnsworth House

The one-room Farnsworth House was designed by Ludwig Mies van der Rohe as a weekend retreat for Doctor Edith Farnsworth. It is seen as one of the best examples of the International Style in the world. The building is known for its use of open space between a concrete floor and ceiling. Miles designed the building with large floor-to-ceiling windows to allow it to be more in tune with nature surrounding it.

Regardless of rather, it is a school, an apartment complex, an office complex a church or a private home, each of these buildings is an architectural wonder that has stood the test of time for more than 25 years.

Find more about American Institute of Architects: